The East Africa Community has moved one step closer towards making the much touted East Africa community one destination a reality.

Over the weekend, Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda launched an online portal, East Africa borderless border in their joint efforts to promote the East African tourism as one destination.

The launch effectively completes the tourism marketing plan hatched last year which saw the birth of the East Africa Tourist Visa.

“By coming together, it would be much easier for tourists who want to visit Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda to do so as the destinations are in one region,”  the Kenya Tourism Board chief executive officer Betty Radier said during the launch of the initiative in Kampala last weekend

The visa which allows multiple entries to Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda is as a result of joint initiative by respective Heads of States to create seamless connection from one country to another and in the process reap more revenue by becoming more attractive to tourists.

“The launch of the portal comes at a time when East African countries are jointly working towards marketing the region as a single destination,” The Kenya Tourism Board chief executive officer added

The portal provides requisite tourist information and guidance to Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda’s tourism products. Additionally, it helps capture tourist experience before, during and after the trip to the three countries.

“Destination East Africa is a reality. All we need is just to actualise it and Rwanda is committed to support this effort,”  Rwanda’s High Commissioner to Uganda, Frank Mugambage said.

Early this month, Rwanda legislators passed a bill  establishing Swahili  as an official language in line with the East Africa community policy.

Why East Africa?

Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda boosts a huge diversity of virgin tourists attractions, from Kenya’s maasai Mara Wild beast migrations, Uganda’s Nile kayaking to Rwanda’s gorrilla trekking at Virunga National park.

Tourists are guaranteed to experience all manner of adventures using a single visa.