Churchill and Chipukeezy to battle it out for top award

The teacher and his pupil.

Churchill and Chipukeezy

Chipukeezy’s show on Ebru TV and Churchill’s Show on NTV will be up against Comedy Arena on KBC and Thursday Night with Doctor Ofweneke.

Dr Ofweneke gets another nod in the ‘Best Comedian on TV’ category and will be up against Jasper Murume, Sleepy David and Professor Hamo of Churchill Show on NTV.

Check out the full list of nominees below:

Best Actor

Elsaphan Njora- Grease

Bilal Mwaura- Fathili

Byron Ndara- Kwe Kalyet, Lwanda Magere Revisited

Gilbert Lukalia- Legally Insane

Ngartia- Too Early For Birds

Martin Githinji- Jesus Christ Superstar

Hiren Vara, Run For Your Wife

Best Actress

Linda Opany- Kwe Kalyet, Lwanda Magere Revisited

Chichi Seii- What Happens In The Night

Nice Githinji- Jesus Christ Superstar, Grease

Marianne Nungo- What Happens In The Night, Wamama

Nyokabi Macharia-Too Early For Birds (Brazzen Edition), Caucasian Chalk Circle

Elsie Akinyi (Sarafina, Cinderella)

Best Actress in Supporting Role

Larvine Adhiambo- Kwe Kalyet, Lwanda Magere Revisited

Maya Saibei - Robinhood

Mkamzee Mwatela – Jesus Christ Superstar, Sarafina

Daisy Temba- Breathe

Pauline Kyalo- Necessary Madness, Wamama

Best Actor In Supporting Role

Biron Ndara Chunga- Kwe Kalyet, Luanda Magere Revisited

Davis Ambuga- Kwe Kalyet

Nick Ndeda- Legally Insane

Martin Githinji-Breathe

Bilal Wanjau- The Jungle Book, Robinhood, Minister Karibu

Benson Ojua- Necessary Madness

Likarion Wainaina- Alladin

Best Production Of TV Comedy Recorded Before A Live Audience

Churchill Show, NTV

Chipukeezy Show, EBRU TV

Comedy Arena, KBC

Thursday Night With Doctor Ofweneke, KTN

Best Comedian On TV – Male

Dr Ofweneke, Thursday Night With Ofweneke, KTN

Sleepy, Churchill Show, NTV

Professor Hamo, Churchill Show, NTV

Okal, Vioja Mahakamani

Jasper Murume, Churchill Raw, NTV

Fred Omondi, Comedy Arena

Best Comedian On TV – Female

Zuleka, Vioja Mahakamani, KBC

Mammito, Churchill Show, NTV

Nasra, Churchill Show, NTV

Jemutai, Churchill Show, NTV

Best TV Art Culture Programme/News/Magazine

10/10 (Citizen)

The Trend (NTV)

Lifestyle Artistic Tuesday (KTN)

Lit 360, NTV

Drama And Music Festivals (Edu Tv)

Best Art and Culture Magazine / Newspaper

Life and Style, Nairobian

Zuqa, Daily Nation

Pulse, The Standard

Kenya Buzz

Best Director

Wanjiku Mwawuganga- Too Early For Birds (Brazen Edition)

Nash Stuart- Sarafina, Jesus Christ Superstar, Grease

Mbeki Mwalimu- Strangers By Blood, Legally Insane

Gilbert Lukalia- Breathe

Tash Mitambo- Minister Karibu

Amar Desai- The Jungle Book

George Chunga, Desai Ogada And Prof. Jan Selman - Kwe Kalyet ( Lwanda Magere Revisited)

Sammy Mwangi-Heartstrings

Best Playwright

Kigondu Martin- Of Cords And Discords

Derrick Waswa- State Of Incommunicado

Aleya Kassam, Anne Moraa, Laura Ekumbo- Too Early For Birds (Brazen Edition)

Walter Sitati- Necessary Madness

Mbeki Mwalimu And Jackson Biko - Breathe

Xavier Nato - Opiyo And Juliet

Justin Mirichi - Strangers By Blood, Legally Insane

Best Production

Bei Ya Jioni Play - Chatterbox

Legally Insane


Kwe Kalyet

Too Early For Birds (Brazen Edition)

Robin Hood

Jesus Christ Superstar

To check out the full list and vote click this link

About Sanaa Theatre Awards

Established 5 years ago, Sanaa Theatre Awards aims at ‘recognizing and rewarding excellence in the field of theatre including theatre performed by youth in and out of school.’


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: