The sports category has moved to a new website.

Why these 27 constituencies could be dismantled after census

New rules

Why these 27 constituencies could be cut off after census

About 27 constituencies could be scrapped off for not meeting the required population threshold.

A report by the Andrew Ligale Commission indicated that a constituency should have an average of 133,138 people.

However, the 27 constituencies were allowed to exist despite not meeting the required population which is now being contested by the new rules.

The new regulations state that the population of a constituency should be a minimum of about 170,000.


The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) had also raised concern over the 27 constituencies that did not meet the population criteria in the 2012 boundary review.

Populated areas  

The population of a constituency must be higher or lower than its quota by 40 per cent for cities and sparsely populated areas, and 30 per cent for other areas. 

The quota is arrived at by dividing the total population by the 290 constituencies.


The 27 constituencies that were saved in 2012, but which face alterations in the next review are Samburu East, Marakwet East, Keiyo North, Mogotio, Vihiga, Budalang’i, Isiolo South, Kilome, Laisamis, North Horr, Saku, and Mbeere North.

Others are Lamu East, Lamu West, Mvita, Mwatate, Wundanyi, Voi, Bura, Galole, Ndaragwa, Tetu, Murkurweini, Othaya, Kangema, and Mathioya.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: