The sports category has moved to a new website.

5 MCAs punished for opposing governor's impeachment

County drama

5 Vihiga County MCAs demoted after opposing Governor Wilber Ottichilo impeachment plan

Five members of the Vihiga county assembly have been demoted following their stand in the matter of Governor Wilber Ottichilo's impeachment.

The five, who were heads of assembly committees, have been relieved of their roles in the assembly with their replacement on course.

The development comes soon after the governor obtained court orders safeguarding against the ouster motion.


The impeachment motion gained traction after 23 of the 38 members of the assembly signed a petition to have the governor sacked.

Impeachment will not be discussed

Vihiga Speaker Hasna Mudeizi on Wednesday alerted the House on the court order that has barred their deliberations on the impeachment motion closing the debates until the court lifts its ban.

"My office is in receipt of a constitutional petition from the governor and certified as urgent in anticipation of the expected impeachment motion. As a house with the knowledge of the said petition, I, therefore, halt the tabling of the intended motion until the matter is heard. Let us obey and follow the directives of the law as at this time," she stated.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: