Samburu County

There is a town named Samburu in Kwale County also in Kenya, but is not related to Samburu County or Samburu people.

It covers an area of roughly 21,000 km² (8,000 mi²) in northern Kenya where the Samburu,Turkana and many other tribes live. It stretches north from the Wuaso Ng'iro River to the south of Lake Turkana and also includes Mount Kulal which lies just east of Lake Turkana.

Within Samburu County are the towns of Maralal (capital and largest town), Baragoi, Archers Post, South Horr, Wamba and Lodosoit.

It also includes the Samburu National Reserve, Bisanadi National Reserve, and Buffalo Springs National Reserve, Mount Ng'iro, Ndoro Mountains, Mathews Range (Ol Doinyo Lenkiyo), Kirisia Hills, and Loroki Forest.

County subdivisions

The county has three constituencies: Samburu East Constituency, Samburu Central and Samburu North Constituency. The headquarters of Samburu Central is Maralal, Samburu North is Baragoi and headquarters for Samburu East is Wamba. There has been controversy about the headquarters of Samburu East. Some schools of thought proposed Archers Post, a rapidly growing town, while others proposed Wamba town a less rapidly growing town.

Local authorities (councils)


The Samburu County Government is headed by Governor Moses Kasaine Lenolkulal, referred to within Samburu County as 'M.K.'. A member of the national Jubilee political party, Lenolkulal was the first governor following Kenya's devolution to county administrations.

A divisive figure, Governor Lenolkulal was indicted by the Kenya Public Accounts and Investment Committee (PAIC) for making illegal payment to the Council of Governors (COG), and for the unaccounted for expenditure and misapplication of funds.

The committee has also charged Governor Lenolkulal with the misappropriation of Sh75 million in unsurrendered tax. The committee is demanding prosecution of the governor via the Ethics and Anti-corruption Commission of Kenya.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: