List of Journalists elected in 2017 general elections [Full List]

From the microphone to the August House

Some of those who joined the political arena have emerged with victory hence joining different levels of leadership.

Here is a List of Journalist who have successfully joined the political arena

Granton Samboja

Former K24 Journalist Granton Samboja has floored Governor John Mruttu in the Taita Taveta governor race.

Samboja who is a first timer in politics trounced political bigwigs like Thomas Mwadeghu, Dan Mwazo and incumbent John Mruttu in the race that he won with 40,764 votes.

He was declared the winner by county IEBC manager Phestus Mucheke at the Mwatate county tallying center on Thursday night.

Mohammed Ali

Former Jicho Pevu Journalist Mohamed Ali is the new Nyali constituency MP.

Mr Ali put up a strong fight against 14 other candidates, who were vying for the seat.

He garnering 26,798 against his closest challenger Mr Said Abdalla of ODM who got 16,473 votes.

Naisula Lesuuda

Nominated Senator Naisula Lessuda has clinched Samburu West Parliamentary seat.

Lessuda is a former employee of Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC).

Paul Katana

Paul Katana a former Journalist is the MP elect for Kaloleni on an ODM ticket.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: