Detectives arrest 5 County officials

Their arrest was sanctioned by DPP Noordin Haji.

Two more officials are still at large.

The arrest follows an earlier directive from the Director of Public Prosecutions Noordin Haji, who had tasked the EACC to facilitate the arrest of seven county officials for misuse of county funds.

In a statement sent to newsrooms Thursday morning, the DPP said that he was convinced that the said officials misappropriated funds through fictitious and irregular procurement of hotel services and allowance payments to members of county assembly.

The dubious transactions, the DPP has said led to the loss of Sh26, 872,278.

“I have received the files from EACC, and I am satisfied the persons named herein actively participated in the perpetration of the alleged criminal activities and should, therefore, be charged and prosecuted,” the DPP notes in press statement.

The accused persons are: Michael Owino Ooro (Former Majority Leader), Isaac Nyauso Nyandege (Former Minority leader), Judith Akinyi Omongi (nominated MCA), Otieno Bob Kephas (County Assembly Clerk), Caroline Sang (Principal Finance Manager), Mourice Odiwor Amek (Senior Accountant) and Edwin Omondi Okello (Senior Accounts Controller).


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: