NASA coalition profile

The coalition was started in January 2017.

Leader:                                    Raila Amolo Odinga

General Secretary:                   Norman Magaya

Deputy Leader:                       Kalonzo Musyoka

Founded:                                11 January 2017

The National Super Alliance party, known by the abbreviation NASA or Nasa, is a Kenyan political coalition that was formed in January 2017 by joint opposition parties. Initially, it was coined by Amani National Congress leader Musalia Mudavadi.

These parties include:

The five - Raila Odinga, Musalia Mudavadi, Kalonzo Musyoka, Moses Wetangula and Isaac Ruto - are the co-principals of the coalition.

The creation of the coalition was to run against President Uhuru Kenyatta and Deputy President William Ruto in the Kenyan general elections 2017.

After a series of meetings, on Thursday 27 April 2017, Raila Odinga was chosen flag bearer for the party.

NASA proposed the following leadership structure if it emerges the winner in the August 2017 General Elections:

  • President:                                              
  • Vice President:                                        Stephen Kalonzo Musyoka
  • Premier Cabinet Secretary:                     Musalia Mudavadi         
  • Deputy Premier Cabinet Secretary:         Moses Wetangula         
  • Deputy Premier Cabinet Secretary:         Isaac Ruto


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: