500 Nakuru Ukambani leaders ditch Raila's Nasa camp for Uhuru's Jubilee

The 500 leaders come from Kalonzo Musyoka's backyard..

Led by the chairman Gerald Kilonzo, the 500 leaders announced their decision to decamp form National Super Alliance coalition to join Uhuru’s Jubilee in Nakuru on Thursday.

They hundreds of leader have eventually vowed to support and campaign for President Uhuru’s reelection in the repeat polls slated for October 26.

Speaking to journalists after they announced to leave the Kalonzo Musyoka camp, Mr Kilonzo, they divulged that their final decision to leave the coalition was informed by the fact that they reside in Nakuru which is majorly a Jubilee zone.

“It was impossible for us to align ourselves with those in the eastern part of the country because they have different ideologies,”  said Kilonzo.

He added: “We have been outside government for four years and we have experienced developments by the Jubilee government. We want this time to get involved with the government while in it.”

They have now vowed to traverse the eleven sub counties of Nakuru County in mobilising votes for President Uhuru in the rematch between Uhuru and Raila in three weeks’ time.

Mr Kilonzo said that they have already formed committees in all the eleven sub-counties of Nakuru to drum up support for President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Nakuru County deputy governor Dr Erick Korir and Nakuru county Jubilee party chairman David Manyara welcomed the new supporters to the party.

The Deputy Governor praised the members for their bold move and exuded confidence that the president will get many votes in the region.

"You have made a bold move which will see the head of state score more votes come October 26," Korir said

The decision to decamp from the party comes barely a week after Raila’s key ally Joseph Tiampati joined Jubilee.

Mr Tiampati, who lost to Jubilee's Samuel Ole Tunai, was received by President Uhuru Kenyatta at State House accompanied by other leaders.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke