11 ODM governors who failed to attend Raila's swearing-in [List]

Only 2 governors, including Joho were at Uhuru Park

The Star compiled a list of senior elected and non-elected Opposition leaders who failed to attend Odinga's controversial inauguration that was held at Uhuru Park.

Mombasa Governor Ali Hassan Joho was conspicuously present at the swearing-in and was given the onerous task of introducing Odinga to take the oath.

His Siaya counterpart Cornel Rasanga is the only other NASA governor who made it to the highly publicised swearing in.


Out of the 16 Opposition governors who missed the event, Kisumu Governor Anyang Nyong'o's issued an apology and sent his deputy as he is receiving medical treatment in the United States.

Interestingly, ODM National Vice Chairman and Turkana Governor Josphat Nanok was having a meeting with Deputy President William Ruto on the same day his Party Leader was being "sworn in".

Full list

Wiper, ANC, and Ford Kenya Governors appear to have taken cue from their respective Party Leaders who did not make it to Uhuru Park.

Here are the ODM Governors who were absent:

1. Prof Anyang' Nyong'o - Kisumu

2. Josphat Nanok - Turkana

3. Amason Kingi - Kilifi

4. Cyprian Awiti - HomaBay

5. Okoth Obado - Migori

6. Wycliffe Oparanya - Kakamega

7. Wilbur Khasilwa – Vihiga

8. Sospeter Ojaamong’ – Busia

9. James Ongwae – Kisii

10. John Nyangarama –Nyamira

11. Dhadho Godhana – Tana River

Other notable faces who were conspicuously absent included Johnson Muthama and Bonny Khalwale. The two were in the Committee that organised the controversial inauguration.

Wiper Governors Kivutha Kibwana (Makueni) and Granton Samboja (Taita Taveta) were absent as all other NASA governors Charity Ngilu (NARC, Kitui), Patrick Khaemba (Ford Kenya, Trans Nzoia) and Wycliffe Wangamati (Ford Kenya, Bungoma).


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke