NASA principals reunite at Jamhuri Day celebrations

The principals boycotted Jamhuri Day in 2017

NASA principals Raila Odinga, Kalonzo Musyoka, Moses Wetangula and Musalia Mudavadi

Special AU envoy Raila Odinga was the first to arrive at the venue and thereafter Wiper party leader Kalonzo Musyoka trooped in with ANC leader Musalia Mudavadi and Ford-Kenya party leader Moses Wetangula closely in tow.

The three Opposition leaders took their seats beside the former Prime Minister with National Assembly Majority Leader Aden Duale in their midst.

Wetangula and Mudavadi are the only NASA leaders who have not shaken hands with President Uhuru Kenyatta and Deputy President William Ruto as a show of unity.

Frosty Relations

The NASA leaders have had frosty relations since the ODM party leader shook hands with President Kenyatta on March 9.

The Bungoma Senator and his ANC counterpart have been especially vocal on their severed ties with the other two accusing them of abandoning the opposition.

Senator Wetangula went further to threaten legal action against the former PM and his party over a dispute in the distribution of funds within the coalition.

Their united front during the 2018 Jamhuri Day celebrations was a stark difference with the 2017 commemoration where they boycotted the event.

At the time, the NASA wing was still opposed to the reelection of President Uhuru after they boycotted the October 26 repeat poll.

President Uhuru, who was fully clad in military apparel for the December 12 event, later saluted the NASA leaders as he greeted them.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: