Jubilee MPs embarrass Uhuru’s cousin during State House meeting

President Kenyatta had nominated his cousin for a powerful position

The session took off on a dramatic turn after the MPs rejected the nomination of President Uhuru Kenyatta’s cousin, Beth Mugo, to the powerful Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC).

Mrs Mugo, who is a nominated Senator, had been proposed by the President, to sit in the most powerful parliamentary committee even though it was highly contested.

Unfortunately, the Jubilee Parliamentary Group overlooked Mugo’s close relationship with President Kenyatta and refused to approve her name.

The 79-year old politician is one of the longest serving parliamentarians, having entered the August House in 1992.

Eldass MP Adan Keynan and his Taveta counterpart Naomi Shaban, were equally rejected.

The selection of chairs of various parliamentary committees was less acrimonious, despite claims that the Rift Valley and Mt Kenya regions were over-represented.

Those who were picked to chair parliamentary committees included: Rachael Nyamai (land), Sabina Chege (health), William Cheptumo (justice and legal affairs), Ali Wario (labour), Kanini Kega (energy), Katoo Ole Metito (defense), Paul Koinange (security), Kimani Ichungwa (transport committee), Jeremiah Kioni (cohesion), Joseph Limo (finance), and Kareke Mbiuki in the environment committee.

The NASA coalition has suffered similar infighting after some of the coalition parties threatened to defect over what they termed unfair distribution of seats.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke