Chaos in Parliament as MPs vote on fuel Tax

Chaos erupt in Parliament


Angry MPs opposing the increased tax started chanting ‘zero’ forcing Minority Leader John Mbadi, who is supporting the tax as proposal, to cut short his address.

"0 % VAT on petroleum products! That's my stand!," Embakasi MP Babu Owino tweeted.

Ruaraka MP Tom Kajwang dissented the proposal stating that the law as it was would give National Treasury Henry Rotich the powers to change the tax at his pleasure without consulting the lawmakers.

“I want to thank those members who are saying zero and I am rising to oppose. I want members to know what they are voting for.

“The law gives the CS the leeway to increase the tax through a Gazette. So it means that if we vote for 8-percent the CS can within one week gazette without coming to Parliament to 25-percent that ids the law. And for that reason I oppose, I oppose,” Kajwang said amid cheer.

The shouting and chanting continued with lawmakers turning against majority leader Aden Duale.

"Duale must go," they said.

More to follow...


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: