Uhuru appointed to lead 79 countries

Leader of leaders

President Uhuru Kenyatta appointed to chair 79 nations of the African, Caribbean and Pacific group

President Uhuru Kenyatta was on Monday appointed to chair the African, Caribbean and Pacific group of 79 countries during a conference in Nairobi.

The appointed will see the President chair the multi-nations group for the next three years.

"I will also champion the group’s solidarity and unity; advocate for an enhanced intra-ACP and South-South and Triangular Cooperation; Champion a Reform Agenda for the ACP Group; push for the integration of our States into the global economy, as well as the conclusion and implementation of the New Partnership Agreement," President Kenyatta promised as he accepted the new role.

President Kenyatta hosted the 9th ACP Summit of Heads of State and Government at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre (KICC).

The summit was attended by Deputy President William Ruto, Presidents Yoweri Museveni (Uganda), Paul Kagame (Rwanda), Hage Geingob (Namibia), Prime Minister Andrew Holness (Jamaica), Prime Minister of Barbados Ms Mia Mottley and the President of Ghana Nana Akufo-Addo among other heads of state and governments.

The Cotonou Agreement

Ahead of the conference, ACP Secretary-General Patrick Gomes had outlined that the Nairobi conference would aim to edge closer to have the member countries endorse the Cotonou Agreement.

The agreement would be between the ACP member states and the members of the European Union.

"We need to accelerate the implementation of structural reforms and policies and infrastructural development, targeted at fostering industrial development and diversification of our economies," President Kenyatta urged.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke