Speaker Muturi announces fate of 11 MPs who traveled to Somalia

Speaker Justin Muturi announces next step

Speaker Justin Muturi

Speaker Justin Muturi has stated that 11 MPs who traveled to Somalia will not be sanctioned.

In an announcement on Tuesday, Speaker Muturi stated that the 11 MPs from North Eastern Kenya won't face disciplinary action since the visit was private.

On Sunday, the legislators were held briefly for questioning at the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA) after returning to the country from Somalia after the secret visit.

Six of the parliamentarians are from Mandera, three from Wajir and two from Garissa.

Flight to Mogadishu

The MPs had on Saturday chartered a flight to Mogadishu where they had dinner with President Mohamed Farmaajo.

Their agenda was not disclosed, although they traveled on diplomatic passports and were treated as State guests.

Interior Security Secretary Muriithi Kangi said; "What was of concern to the country was how the MPs travelled to a foreign country without clearance and on a matter whose agenda was not clear to the government."


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke