Gor Mahia flog AFC Leopards to book Everton


Both teams maintained their semifinals’ winning squads with the hope of registering history in the tournament.

Gor Mahia had Fredrick Odhiambo in goal and a trio of Timothy Otieno, George Odhiambo and Meddie Kagere in the attacks.

For AFC Leopards, Gilbert Fiamenyo and Vincent Oburu were tasked with goal-hunting job as Ian Otieno mans the posts.

The first-half was almost a balanced affair with both teams looking for a breakthrough. Gor Mahia had to wait for the second stanza to prove their worth having walloped the rivals in recent Mashemeji derby.

In the 63rd minute, Timothy Otieno, who had not been lethal in the first-half, beat Ian Otieno in goal to hand K’Ogalo their first goal.

Before the celebrating fans calmed down, head coach Ze Maria introduced Oliver Maloba in place of goal-scorer Timothy Otieno. That was a perfect substitution. It only took Maloba two minutes to double the lead for Gor Mahia.

AFC Leopards head coach Dorian Marin then removed skipper Bernard Mang’oli for Whyvonne Isuzza after he introduced Andrew Tololwa in place of Gilbert Fiamenyo but the adjustments did not yield fruits for Ingwe.

John Ndirangu stepped up in injury time to add Gor Mahia’s third goal, a 3-0 score-line which was realized when they met in May. They now bag home Sh3 million prize money, a trophy and a chance to play against English Premier League side Everton in July 13.

AFC Leopards starting XI: Ian Otieno, Denis Sikhayi, Marcus Abwao, Joshua Mawira, Salim Abdalla, Ramadhan Yakub, Bernard Mang'oli, Duncan Otieno, Gilbert Fiamenyo, Allan Katerega, Vincent Oburu.

Subs: Gabriel Andika, Mike Kibwage, Samuel Ndung'u, Haroun Nyakha, Andrew Tololwa, Marcellus Ingotsi, Paul Kiongera, Edwin Mukolwe, Whyvonne Isuzza.

Gor Mahia starting XI: Fredrick Odhiambo, Haron Shakava, Innocent Wafula, Wellington Ochieng’, Joash Onyango, Timothy Otieno, Francis Kahata,Kenneth Muguna,George Odhiambo, Philemon Otieno and Kagere Meddie.

Subs: Shaban Odhoji, Bernard Odhiambo, Mike Simiyu, Anthony Mbugua, Amos Nondi, Teddy Osok, John Ndirangu, Oliver Maloba and Jeconiah Uyoga.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke