The 2017 IAAF World Cross-country championships is set to kick off March 26 in Kampla Uganda.

Kenya will be represented by a team that won the national trials that where held on March 18. The 30-member team will be led by Leonard Barsoton and Irene Cheptai who emerged winners of the trials.

Kenya will depart on Friday to Uganda in readiness to the IAAF World Cross-country Championships.

But despite the departure, a number of setbacks have derailed the Kenyan Team in terms of preparations and transport to Kampala.

Read Also:Life bans for China's marathon cheats

According to Deputy Team captain Faith Chepng’etich Kipyegon lack of movement has been one of the biggest challenge in their preparation.

“Athletics Kenya (AK) officials should organize better transport for our team that is based in Kigari, Embu to enable us access better terrain for endurance training, “said The two-time World Cross junior women gold medalist.

The Kenya team also includes the men's and women's 10k defending champions Geoffrey Kamworor and Agnes Tirop and Olympians Faith Chepngetich Kipyegon, Alice Aprot and Hyvin Kiyeng.

The star-studded squad is preparing to defend their overall title on March 26 at the Kololo Grounds in Kampala.

The AK official’s visited the team on Wednesday at St. Mark’s Teachers Training College and assured them that they will do everything to see the team is well facilitated.

The team also asked the official to review their allowances ahead of the IAAF World Cross-country Championships.

Team Kenya

Senior Men:Lenard Barsoton 28:56.3 (Police)Geoffrey Kamworor 29:03.4 (Police)Vincent Rono 29:06.3 (Prisons)Leonard Komon 29:08:8 (Coast)Leonard Lagat 29.13.8 (South Rift)Nicholas Kosimbei 29:22.6 (South Rift)

Senior Women:Irene Cheptai 31:47.5 (Police)Lilian Kasait 31:51.9 (South Rift)Faith Chepng’etich 32:12.9 (South Rift)Alice Aprot 32:18.8 (Prisons)Agnes Tirop 32:47.4 (Police)Hyvin Kiyeng 32:52.3 (Police)

Junior Men:Richard Kimunyan 23:03.0 (Central Rift)Meshack Kyuguti 23:10.0 (Southern)Wesley Ladema 23:13.2 (Nairobi)Edwin Kiplagat 23:14.5 (South Rift)Amos Kirui 23:17.1 (South Rift)Ronald Kirui 23:22.0 (South Rift)

Junior Women:Sandrafelis Chebet 19:25.1 (Nairobi)Cellephine Chepteek 19:46.6 (Nairobi)Sheila Chelangat 19:49.6 (South Rift)Emmaculate Chepkirui 19:51.8 (South Rift)Joyline Cherotich 19:53.8 (South Rift)Hellen Ekalale 19:56.7 (Nairobi)

Relay Team:Asbel Kiprop (Police)Margaret Nyairera (Prisons)Mark Bett (Prisons)Beatrice Chepkemoi (Police)Winfred Mbithe (Police)Bernard Kipkorir (South Rift)

Team Kenya which is comprised of 30 athletes and eight officials is due to travel to Uganda on March 24 and return a day after the biennial global showpiece.