Olympics Women 5000m Champion Vivian Cheruiyot is is the 2016 Sports Personality of the Year Awards (Soya) winner.

Cheruiyot was crowned the overall winner at a glittering glamour ceremony at the KICC on Thursday night graced by long distance running legend Haile Gebrselassie who was the chief guest.

The 5000m Olympic Champion scooped the prestigious prize after edging out another Olympic marathon Champion Eliud Kipchoge.

Cheruiyot, who walked away with a one million shilling cash prize, previously won the same award in 2011.

She becomes only the third athlete to win Kenya’s most coveted sports award twice after Catherine Ndereba (2004, 2005) and Janeth Jepkosgei (2006, 2007).


The award is the latest accolade in a glittering career of the 33 year-old long distance runner.

Apart from the gold medal she won at the Rio Olympics last year, Cheruiyot had previously won Silver in the 5,000m and Bronze in the 10,000m races at the London Olympics.

She is also currently the reigning World 10,000m Champion, a title she also won in the World 2011 Championships.

She was also awarded the 2012 Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year.

Teams of the Year

The Kenya Sevens bagged the Men’s Team of the Year award beating the Kenya Sportpesa Premier League Champions Tusker FC and the Kenya Simbas 15 rugby team.

The award comes after the team won their first ever HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series title last year in Singaporeafter they beat Fiji to win their first-ever main cup title.

It had taken the Kenyan Sevens team 140 tournaments to finally win their maiden main cup title making them only the second African nation after South Africa to win a World Series leg.

They had previously managed to finish runners-up only twice during that period.

The women’s national football team Harambee Starlets won the Women’s Team of The Year award.

The team’s meteoric rise in continental football saw them qualify for their first ever Africa Women Cup of Nations last year after overcoming giants Algeria in the qualifying stages over two legs.

They also finished runner’s up at the CECAFA championship after narrowingly losing 2-1 to Tanzania in the final.

SOYA 2016 Winners

2016 Sports Personality of the Year: Vivian Cheruiyot (Athletics)

Sportsman of the Year: 1. Eliud Kipchoge (Athletics, Marathon)), 2. Conseslus Kipruto (Athletics, 3,000m steeplechase), 3. Collins Injera (Kenya Sevens rugby)/David Rudisha (Athletics, 800m)

Sportswoman of the Year: 1. Vivian Cheruiyot (Athletics, 10,000m, 5,000m), 2. Faith Chepng’etich (Athletics, 1,500m), 3. Jemimah Sumgong (Athletics, marathon)

Sportsman Living with a Disability: Samuel Muchai (Athletics, T11- 1,500m, 5,000m), Henry Kirwa (T13-1,500m, 5,000m)

Sportsman Living with a Disability: 1. Nancy Koech (Athletics), 2. Nelly Sile (Athletics), 3. Irene Cherono (Athletics).

Most Promising Boy: 1. Kipyegon Bett (Athletics), 2.Ryan Randiek (tennis), 3. Joseph Okumu (football)

Most Promising Girl: 1. Mwanahalima Adam (football), 2. Kelly Gachaga (Golf), 3. Sneha Kotecha (Tennis)

Team of the Year –Men: 1. Kenya Sevens (Rugby), 2. Tusker FC (fotball), 3. Kenya Simbas (rugby)

Team of the Year - Women: 1. Harambee Starlets, 2. Telkom Orange (hockey), 3. National Roll Ball Team

Sports Federation of the Year: 1. Tennis Kenya, 2. Football Kenya Federation 3. KSSSA

School Team of the Year-Boys: 1. Kamusinga (Hockey), 2. Kakamega (Rugby), 3. Upperhill (Basketball)

School Team of the Year-Girls: Kaya Tiwi (Basketball), 2. Sinyolo Girls( Hockey), 3. AIC Kosirai (volleyball)

School Player of the Year Girls: Haddasah Gichovi (Athletics)

School Player of the Year Boys: Allan Singar

School Coach of the Year: Philip Onyango

Coach of the Year: Jos Openda (Telkom Orange)

Hall of Fame: Jackson Omaido (rugby), Naftali Temu (Athletics)

Community Hero: Felix Oloo