Newly released calender for National sevens series excites Kenyans

National Sevens Series

Homeboyz vs Kabras in a past clash

According to the new dates released, the Sevens Circuit is set to kick off late July and end in early November this year.

The circuit is a series of sevens a side competition taking places in various towns and cities in the country. It also brings together passionate rugby fans to mingle, have fun and of course enjoy some rugby.

This will be the Fourth round of the National Sevens Series and it will be held at the Ngong Hills Sports Resort for a period of two years starting with the 2017 edition which will take place on September 9/10.

The National Sevens Series is Kenya Rugby's premier club sevens competition and is played over six rounds, the team accumulating the most points at the close of the series crowned club sevens champions of Kenya.

This years’ schedule is as follows:

July 22, 2017- Mombasa Driftwood

July 29, 2017- Kabeberi Sevens, Nairobi

Sept 2, 2017- Prinsloo, Nakuru

Sept 9, 2017- Homeboyz

Sept 23, 2017- Christie, Quins

Sept 30, 2017- Dala Sevens, Kisumu

Nov 5, 2017- Safaricom Sevens, Nairobi

The National Sevens Circuit schedule is coming days after the conclusion of Kenya Cup leg that saw KCB RFC reclaim their lost glory after overpowering Kabras Sugar in a one man show with a margin of 36-8.

Menengai Cream Homeboyz won last year’s National sevens Circuit after they won all their matches to advance to the quarter-finals of the Christie sevens at the RFUEA Grounds.

The Deejays ate on top of the Kenya Cup standings with 67 points, hence still posing as a threat in this year’s National Sevens Circuit.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: