The Women’s Sevens World Series qualifiers is set to kick off on the April 7 in Hong Kong with Kenya being represented by the Lionesses who are in pool B.

The Lionesses will start their Women’s Sevens World Series qualifiers with a Pool B clash against hosts Hong Kong at 6.28am East African Time on Thursday 6 April 2017.

They will then face off with Belgium at 8.50am before winding up against Argentina at 11.46am.

Read Also:Kenya’s Shujaa drawn in a tough pool for the upcoming HSBC sevens series leg

On 24th Friday the Lionesses began a three day camp in Nairobi as they intensify their preparations for the World Series qualifiers.

According to head coach Kevin Wambua, the camp will help bring cohesive bond amongst the players.

”We of course are keen on creating a cohesive bond amongst the players. It will also assist in our final preps before we name the final travelling party for the qualifiers in Hong Kong.” Said Kevin Wambua.

The world –famous Hong Kong tournament retains its status as the largest on the HSBC sevens worldwide.

The winner of the women’s Qualifiers will be promoted to the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens series in 2017/18.

Wambua is expected to name the final squad in the coming week.

Lionesses Fixtures In Hong Kong

Thursday 6 April 2017

Kenya v Hong Kong - 6.28am

Kenya v Belgium - 8.50am

Kenya v Argentina - 11.46am

Kenya’s Shujaa will be walking into the Hong Kong Sevens while standing at number 12 with 40 points after the just concluded USA sevens where they won the Challenge trophy.

The Innocent Simiyu coached side are optimistic of registering good result and boost the morale of their sister “Lionesses” who will also be in Hong Kong.

Shujaa’s are in pool B alongside Argentina, Hong Kong and Belgium