Shujaa’s coach Innocent Simiyu names squad for Hong Kong sevens

Brian Tanga and Dennis Ombachi return to the Shujaa squad while 23 year Resolution Impala Saracens winger Derrick Mayar is in line for his debut as Head Coach Innocent Simiyu named his 13 man squad for next weekend's Hong Kong Sevens.

Kenya sevens team

Tanga returns for the first time since the Sydney Sevens while Ombachi makes his first appearance of the season.

The trio come in for Billy Odhiambo (hamstring), Oscar Ayodi (knee) and Leonard Mugaisi who has been rested for this tour.

Head Coach Innocent Simiyu, while announcing the team on Friday afternoon, said, “ Derrick Mayar has excelled well in training and we have given him a maiden call up while Ombachi, who returns to the squad for his first appearance of the year gives us a different dynamic to the team, he is a strong running back.”

Shujaa have been grouped in Pool B with South Africa, Canada and France. The team departs for Hong Kong on Monday morning.

The squad

Andrew Amonde (KCB, Captain), Willy Ambaka, Eden Agero, Frank Wanyama (SportPesa Quins), Derrick Mayar ,Samuel Oliech (Resolution Impala Saracens), Dennis Ombachi (Nondescripts), Brian Tanga, Daniel Sikuta (Kabras Sugar), Bush Mwale (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), Augustine Lugonzo (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), Collins Injera (Mwamba), Nelson Oyoo (Top Fry Nakuru)

Management: Innocent Simiyu (Head Coach), Samuel Njogu (S&C), Will Webster (Performance Analyst), Erick Ogweno (Team Manager)


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: