The sports category has moved to a new website.

Top 5 longest serving MPs in Kenya

The veterans of Kenyan politics

Here are the longest serving Members of Parliament in Kenya. The list includes members from both houses of Parliament (Senate and National Assembly).

1. Amos Wako - 25 years

Kenya’s longest-serving Attoney General also happens to the longest serving Members of Kenya’s Parliament.

Wako served an ex-officio MP for twenty years (1991-2011).


He briefly left Parliament after the promulgation of the 2010 constitution, before returning in 2013 – this time as the elected Busia Senator.

Wako is serving his second term in the Senate.

2. James Orengo - 23 years

The veteran politician and Senior Counsel currently holds the record of the longest-serving elected Member of Parliament in Kenya.

Orengo was first elected to represent Ugenya in a special by-election held in 1980.


At the time, both speakers of the two houses of parliament were in university while nearly a dozen of the his colleagues were not yet born.

The sharp lawyer went in the political cold in 2002 following his unsuccessful presidential bid.

In 2007, he represented Ugenya for one more term before moving to the Senate (representing Siaya) in 2013 and where he is serving a second term.

3. Moses Wetangula 21 years


Wetangula is also a member of the veteran legislators.

He got into Parliament in 1992 as a KANU nominated MP.

He did not make it back in 1997 but was elected as Sirisia MP in 2002 where he served for two terms.

In 2013, the NASA co-principal went to the Senate as Bungoma Senator where he is serving his second term.

4. Beth Mugo  - 21 years


The 81-year old Nominated Senator is the second-longest serving Members of Parliament in Kenya.

Ms Mugo was first elected in 1992 as Dagoretti MP, she was re-elected in five.

5. Jimmy Angwenyi 19 years

He is the fifth longest legistator in the Kenyan parliament.

Angwenyi is also the longest-serving MP in the National Assembly. He was first elected to represent Kitutu Chache in a by-election held in 1980.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: