The sports category has moved to a new website.

Can a Nairobi resident travel to any of the other 4 disease infected areas? - Nzioka Waita explains

5 counties lockdown order explained

A police road block in Kenya

State House Chief of Staff Nzioka Waita on Friday explained the cessation of movement order imposed on Nairobi, Kajiado, Kiambu, Machakos and Nakuru.

The order given by President Uhuru Kenyatta outlined that persons are not allowed to travel in and out of the designated counties for the next 60 days.

The ban, Mr Waita explained, applies to those seeking to leave the boundaries of the five counties as a collective.

This to mean that, residents from the five counties will be allowed to travel across their shared boundaries.


"Kindly note that the Cessation of Movement is in and out of the 5 counties (Nairobi, Nakuru, Kiambu, Machakos, and Kajiado) as One Zoned Area. You can therefore move freely within the five counties. You will not however be able to leave and enter the One Zoned Area," the Chief of Staff explained.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: