Uhuru issues Cessation of Movement Order on these Counties

5 counties declared disease infected areas

President Uhuru Kenyatta

President Uhuru Kenyatta has issued a cessation of movement order on five counties following a severe third wave of the Covid-19 pandemic in Kenya.

In a Public Order issued from State House - Nairobi, the President declared the five counties as "disease infected areas" after they accounted for 70% of the new infections in the country.

The five counties were listed as:- Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru.

"Fully conscious that 70% of Kenya’s reported cases of Covid-19 have been recorded in the Counties of Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru, those Counties are individually and collectively declared a disease infected area.

"There shall be cessation of all movement by road, rail, or air into and out of the disease infected area as one zoned area comprising of the Counties of Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru, effective Midnight tonight – meaning, Saturday 27th March, 2021; until otherwise notified," the President ordered.

The President also reviewed curfew hours for the stipulated counties to begin two hours earlier.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke