5 ODM politicians likely to vie for Kibra MP's seat

Big names in ODM gearing up to replace Ken Okoth in Kibra

ODM party leader Raila Odinga casting his vote in Kibra during a past election. Edwin Sifuna, Elizabeth Ongoro, Imran Okoth likely to vie for Kibra seat to replace Ken Okoth

At least five politicians within the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party are said to be gunning for the Kibra constituency parliamentary seat.

The seat fell vacant following the death of MP Ken Okoth who succumbed to colorectal cancer on July 26, 2019.

National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi is scheduled to declare the seat vacant within the week as the period prescribed for the declaration (21 days) is set to elapse on Friday.

The five politicians named in the upcoming contest include ODM Secretary General Edwin Sifuna, former nominated Senator Elizabeth Ongoro, former Embakasi South MP Irshad Sumra, former ODM presidential campaign manager Eliud Owalo and ODM youth leader Benson Musungu.

A sixth entrant to the race is the late Ken Okoth's brother, Mr Imran Okoth who is expected to make his debut into politics through the by-election.

When reached for comment, the contenders have refused to confirm or deny the reports of their candidature stating that the seat is yet to be declared up for grabs.

Date for Kibra Constituency by-election

According to the Constitution, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) will have three months to carry out the by-election as soon as Speaker Muturi declares the seat vacant.

The contest is likely to be a battle between ODM-linked contenders given the spirit of the handshake.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke