The sports category has moved to a new website.

Nasa MPs announce another boycott

The boycott is likely to make President Uhuru Kenyatta swing into action.

A letter by the Minority whip Mr Junet Mohammed addressed to all members of Labour and Social Welfare, Agriculture, Environment, Parliamentary Broadcasting and Library committees, directed them on Monday to skip the meetings.

"You have already exercised your mandate, under Standing Order 179 of the standing orders of the National Assembly, in electing the committee leadership. Kindly be advised accordingly," the Suna East MP said in a letter seen by Kenya on Monday.

The meeting has been convened for Tuesday by the speaker of the National Assembly to realign the new members for the aforementioned committee leadership, after the election of four Jubilee lawmakers - Alfred Keter, Silas Tiren, David Bowen and Alex Kosgey – was quashed by President Uhuru Kenyatta, the party leader.


On Thursday last week, Kenyatta summoned the MPs who defied the party's directive to resign from the respective committees of Parliament.

Nandi Hills MP Alfred Keter, however, failed to honour the invitation. It was later reported that the President exerted pressure on the four to quit their positions, a move which brought cracks on the party.

The four had earlier defied a directive by deputy president William Ruto to relinquish the seats they had won, against their wishes.

The four, who once sued Chief whip Benjamin Washiali and Majority leader Aden Duale, have been at loggerheads with Jubilee Party chiefs in Parliament since going against the president’s preferences and working their way to the leadership of the committees.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: