The sports category has moved to a new website.

The County in Nyanza without a single ODM MP

The Governor, senator, and woman rep belong to ODM

Out of the five counties that formed the former Nyanza province, all the Governors and Senators were elected on the orange party.

Four out of the five Woman representatives are also from ODM.

However, Kisii record has the odd record of not having a single ODM MP in the National Assembly.


Out of the nine MPs in Kisii, Jubilee has two MPs. People's Democratic Party (PDP), and the Kenya National Congress (KNC) also have two legislators each.

Ford Kenya has one MP, same as the National Alliance Party of Kenya (NAPK).

Bomachoge Borabu MP Zadoc Abel Ogutu is an independent legislator.

Despite the absence of elected MPs, Kisii voters largely voted for ODM candidate Raila Odinga who garnered 224,317 votes (55.40 per cent) against President Uhuru Kenyatta's 174,978 votes (43.22 per cent).

Area governor James Ongwae was re-elected on the orange party, attaining 206,110 votes against Jubilee's Chris Obure who had 110,760 votes.


ODM's Prof Sam Ongeri won the senatorial seat with 188,375 votes.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: