3 Major issues NASA finally agreed on during private meetings

The exclusive deliberations have seen the Principals agree on several issues including...


The National Super Alliance (NASA) leaders have been holed up in private meetings at a home in Karen ahead of the Thursday rally at Uhuru Park, where the Alliance will finally announce its flagbearer.

The exclusive deliberations have seen the Principals agree on several issues including how the NASA Government would work in case they ouster President Uhuru Kenyatta in the August 8 Election.

According to sources privy to the meeting, the NASA Principals - Raila Odinga, Kalonzo Musyoka, Musalia Mudavadi, Moses Wetangula and Isaac Ruto - agreed on forming a five-year transitional Government.

This means that whoever is selected as the Presidential Candidate will not be allowed to run for the 2022 General Election but instead endorse another member of the Pentagon.

The leaders also indicated that they will focus reorganizing the Government, auditing assets and liabilities and plan how to manage debts the country is in.

In a report by the Star, Lugari MP Ayub Savula noted that the move was meant to “correct mistakes made by the Jubilee administration and return the country to the path of growth”.

The co-principals will sign a power-sharing agreement which will be handed to the Registrar of Political Parties before they announce the Presidential Candidate to face-off President Kenyatta.

“You know, there are fears that if one of them becomes President he could easily fail to live up to their agreement if it lacks a legal enforcement. This time round, there will be no gentleman’s memorandum of understanding,” the Nation quoted an MP privy to the meetings.

Following the exclusive meetings, the Principals also agreed that no one will leave the Alliance.

The Opposition leaders are looking to garner 16 Million votes out of the 19 million registered by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

NASA leaders are set to call for a referendum once in power to ensure that Kenya is governed through the Parliamentary system.

Unverified reports indicate that the leaders agreed to divide the ministries into a pool of three – the productive economy, public service and infrastructure development.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke