The sports category has moved to a new website.

President Uhuru Kenyatta makes 15 changes in government

High ranking government officials affected in the latest shake-up

File image of President Uhuru Kenyatta

President Uhuru Kenyatta has made several changes in his administration with 15 senior government officials affected in the latest shake-up.

The changes that were announced on Friday will see Robinson Njeru Githae who has been Kenya’s envoy to the United States replaced by Lazarus Ombai Amayo.

Githae has been moved to the Vienna consulate to head Kenya’s mission in Austria.

The communique released on Friday and read in part that "The President has approved the promotion and appointment of 15 serving to the position of Ambassador in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs".


Below is the full list of appointees:

1. Kariuki Mugwe - Abu Dhabi

2. Peter Katana Angore - Algiers

3. Barine Eliphas Mugendi - Accra

4. Andrew Kihurani - Bern


5. Lamarron Ole Kaanto - Berlin

6. Purity Muhindi - Dakar

7. John Mwangemi - Djibouti

8. Mwendwa Musembi - Dubai

9. Michael Mubea - Dublin


10. Njeri Njiiri Karago - Los Angeles

11. Flora Karugu - Lusaka

12. Richard Opembe - Madrid

13. Jackline Yonga - Rome

14. Mwende Mwinzi - Seoul


15. Diana Kaimbuthi - Stockholm

16. Njambi Kinyunu - UN-Habitat

Foreign Affairs CS Monicah Juma who announced the changes congratulated the nominees, stating that it is an honour to serve Kenya in the various capacities.

"I congratulate each and every one of them for the honour bestowed upon them by His Excellency the president to serve our motherland, welcome those joining the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and wish the Ambassador/ High Commissioner- Designates good luck in the vetting process before confirmation,"stated the CS.


The next phase will see the appointees vetted by parliament for their suitability to hold the various offices.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: