Kenya gov't puts restrictions on travelers from 3 more countries over Coronavirus

Strict guidelines

Italy, South Korea, Iran travelers to self-quarantine for 14 days on arrival in Kenya - Health CS Mutahi Kagwe

The Kenyan government has imposed additional restrictions on travelers from Italy, South Korea and Iran as a precautionary measure against the deadly Coronavirus infection.

Travelers from the three countries will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days once they arrive in the country.

The directive came from Health CS Mutahi Kagwe who is also the chair of the National Taskforce on Coronavirus which was formed by President Uhuru Kenyatta last week.

"Our response must adjust to the new reality. It would be helpful if the travelers can also be checked before they leave their countries," the CS stated in an address to the press on Sunday.

Hundreds infected

According to the latest statistics from WorldoMetre, China is leading with 80,026 infections as of Monday morning and 2,912 confirmed fatalities so far.

4,212 South Korea citizens have been confirmed to have the infection with 22 fatalities while Italy is dealing 1,701 infections while 41 people have died from it in the country.

Iran has confirmed 978 active cases which include seven government officials with a total of 54 deaths from the disease.

Other countries that have crossed the 100 mark of infections include Japan, France, Germany, Singapore and the city of Hong Kong.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: