Tanzania blocks Kenyan universities from admitting students

Magufuli team issues tough order preventing further admission of students.


The Jommo Kenyatta University for Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) and Kenyatta University (KU) have been prevented from admitting students in Arusha from September for failing to meet standards.

The two universities have been under investigations into how they had invested millions of shillings in setting up campuses in Rwanda and Tanzania.

Kenya's Commission of University Education’s had previously disapproved the setting up of campuses outside Kenya.

JKUAT and KU later defended their investments in Rwanda and Tanzania insisting that they were aimed at plugging skills gap and generating revenues for the institutions.

In reports to National Assembly’s Public Investment Committee (PIC), the two varsities disclosed that they had spent Sh450 million to set up campuses in the two countries.

In August, Kenyans in Namanga held demonstrations against a deportation order against Tanzanian President John Magufuli.

The protesters claimed that President Magufuli had deported their counterparts and Tanzanian authorities were targeting Kenyans living in their country illegally.

The protesters blocked the busy Kenya-Tanzania border road at Namanga and stormed businesses owned by Tanzanians.

There has been an uneasy diplomatic relationship between Nairobi and Dar es Salaam since President Magufuli came to power in October 2015, forcing a review of the Economic Partnership Agreement with Europe and persuading Uganda to opt for an oil pipeline through Tanzania.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke