3 IEBC Commissioners Resign

Just in

Consolata Maina (also the IEBC Vice Chair), Margaret Mwachanya, and Paul Kurgat made the announcement during a press conference on Monday morning.

Why IEBC Commissioners resigned

The trio accused IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati of failing to lead the commission.

"For far too long and way too many ties, the Commission Chair has failed to b the steady and stable hand that steers the ship in difficult tides and gives direction when needed.

"Instead, under the leadership, the Commission boardroom has become a venue for peddling misinformation, grounds for brewing mistrust, and a space for scrambling for and chasing individual glory and credit," the commissioners said in a statement.

Chebukati's crisis meeting

This comes on a day Mr Chebukati had called a crisis meeting to resolve issues affecting the electoral body after IEBC CEO Ezra Chiloba was sent on a 3-month compulsory leave.

The three Commissioners were against the suspension of Mr Chiloba over the procurement procedure of electoral material that needs to undergo auditing.

Chebukati now has no quorum at the commission as he only has two other commissioners; Boya Molu, and Prof Abdi Guliye


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke