The sports category has moved to a new website.

List of African leaders who have sworn themselves in as Presidents

Raila took oath on Tuesday as the People's President

His deputy Kalonzo Musyoka failed to attend the much anticipated swearing-in.

Out of the act of being sworn in as the People’s President, the Former Prime Minster has joined the list of other brave African leaders who took oath as the People's President.


Others opposition leaders who have sworn-in themselves as President include,

Etienne Tshisekedi from DRC’s Congo

Moshod Abiola, from Nigeria

Kiza Besigye from Uganda

Jean Ping from Gabon


Etienne Tshisekedi from DRC Congo

Étienne Tshisekedi wa Mulumba was a Congolese politician and the leader of the Union for Democracy and Social Progress, the main opposing political party in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Tshisekedi was bron in December 14, 1932 and died on February 1, 2017.

Having officially lost to incumbent Joseph Kabila, Tshisekedi nevertheless declared himself the "elected president" of Congo. Policemen and Kabila's presidential guards were subsequently stationed at every corner that gives entrance to Tshisekedi's residence, placing him under unofficial House Arrest.


Moshod Abiola from Nigeria

Chief Moshood Kashimawo Olawale Abiola, CFR was a Nigerian Yoruba businessman, publisher, politician and aristocrat of the Yoruba Egba clan.

Abiola ran for the Presidency in 1993, for which the election results were annulled by the preceding military president Ibrahim Babangida because of allegations that they were corrupt and unfair.

The Situation forced Abiola to swear himself in as the People’s President.

Kizza Besigye from Uganda


Warren Kizza Besigye Kifefe, known as Kizza Besigye, and also nicknamed Colonel, Daktari, Kifefe, KB, and Ssenyondo, is a Ugandan physician, politician, and former military officer in the Uganda People's Defence Force.

“I Kizza Besigye swear in the name of God…..” he started, declaring himself as People's President and a rightful leader. He was later arrested after the “swearing in ceremony”

Jean Ping from Gabon

Jean Ping is a Gabonese diplomat and politician who was the Chairperson of the Commission of the African Union from 2008 to 2012.



Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: