The sports category has moved to a new website.

List of 7 MPs selected to represent Ruto gov't in bipartisan talks with Azimio

President Ruto's government prepares to engage the opposition in bipartisan talks

President William Ruto addressing a Parliamentary Group meeting with MPs and Senators in Kenya Kwanza coalition on April 11, 2023

National Assembly Majority Leader Kimani Ichungw’wa has unveiled the list of MPs who will represent the government in the proposed bipartisan talks with the opposition; Azimio la Umoja.

This followed a meeting between President William Ruto and legislators at State House, Nairobi.

"Appreciating that the Constitution of Kenya gives Parliament a singular mandate of resolving all issues that have concerned to the people of Kenya the Parliamentary group meeting agreed with the president on a parliamentary by partisan approach in resolving such matters consequently, the PG nominates the following members," Ichung'wa said.

In a media briefing on Tuesday, April 11, the NA majority leader announced that the Kenya Kwanza team would be led by Kakamega Senator Bonnie Khalwale.


Other members of the team include Senators Hillary Sigei (Bomet), Esther Okenyuri (Nominated), MPs George Murugara (Tharaka), Mwengi Mutuse (Kibwezi West), Adan Keynan (Eldas), Lydia Haika (Taita Taveta).

"The Parliamentary group reaffirms our commitment to the rule of law and constitutionalism and appreciates the role of the opposition to oversight and criticize government.

"However, as a PG, we affirm our support to the efforts by the government on policies that are geared towards stabilizing our economy, lowering the cost of living creating jobs," Ichung'wa said.

The Kenya Kwanza elected leaders also said that there is no law allowing return of Independent Electoral Boundaries Commissioners who resigned willingly, asks Azimio to move to the Supreme Court to seek the opening of IEBC servers.


The Azimio la Umoja leadership has already unveiled its list of representatives in the 14-member committee.

They include Senators Edwin Sifuna (Nairobi), Ledama Ole Kina (Narok) and Enock Wambua (Kitui), MPs Amina Mnyanzi (Malindi), Millie Odhiambo (Suba North), David Pkosing (Pokot South) and Otiende Amollo (Rarieda).


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: