Drama, delays and confusion at ODM nominations in Kibra [Photos]

10 men are facing off in the exercise that will close at 5 PM

Raila Odinga on the campaign trail in Nairobi

The Orange Democratic Movement party nominations for the Kibra constituency kicked off in earnerst with party loyalists turning up to exercise their democratic right.

The process was however not shy of the usual drama, chaos and confusion that has become a symbol of party nominations.

Facing off for the ultimate prize are 10 aspirants whose fate lie in the hands of registered voters.

Among them are Peter Orero (Mwalimu), Christone Odhiambo (Kris Darlin), Stephen Okello, Tony Sira, Reuben Ojijo, Eric Ochieng, Shem Owino, Benson Musungu, John Otieno and Bernard Okoth.

Several party loyalists who had turned up to pick the ODM flag bearer were left disappointed after missing their names on the party register.

Several of those whose names were appearing on the registered had wrong ID numbers.

By 9:30 AM, voting was yet to start at several polling stations including Ayany Primary school where scores had lined up to choose the party’s candidate in the race to succeed Ken Okoth.

At some point, the nomination exercise had to be halted after residents demanded for the official IEBC register but party officials moved in swiftly to contain the situation.

Police were on stand-by in the high-stakes exercise that is curtain-raiser for the ultimate battle pitting Raila Odinga’s ODM party candidate against DP Ruto who is backing McDonald Mariga.

Turnout was quite low at Olympic Primary school where the exercise was smoothly done.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke