Raila suffers Major blow after IEBC's Final announcement

IEBC will declare Uhuru Kenyatta as president elect at 3:30PM today.

On Sunday, NASA leaders led by Raila Odinga had called on IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati to nullify the repeat poll terming it a 'sham election'.

Speaking in an interview, Odinga demanded a fresh presidential election be held in 90 days where all counties would participate freely.

However, IEBC vice chairperson Consolata Nkatha Maina on Monday declared that they would go ahead and announce the results without the constituencies that didn't participate in the poll.

Nkatha quoted the Elections act Section 55 (B) 3 where the electoral body was allowed to declare results if the votes were deemed insignificant to affect the outcome.

Due to security concerns, elections failed to take place in 25 constituencies in Kisumu, Homa Bay, Siaya and Migori Counties.

The final tally by IEBC showed President Uhuru Kenyatta had garnered 7,483,895 votes which accounted for 98.3 percent of the 7,616,217 valid votes that were cast.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke