CS Najib Balala clarifies on 2022 political ambitions

My attention has been drawn to recent media reports - CS Balala

Tourism Cabinet Secretary Najib Balala

Tourism Cabinet Secretary Najib Balala has issued a statement following claims that he is soon to resign from his cabinet position.

Dismissing the reports by Standard Media Group, CS Balala stated that he has no intention to vie for an elective position come the 2022 General Election.

The media house's daily publication, in an article, had suggested that the CS would be quitting his position by February 2022 to vie for an elective position.

"For avoidance of doubt, I want to categorically state that my focus is to continue to serve the country in my current position as Cabinet Secretary for Tourism and Wildlife and that I have no plans to vie for any elective position anywhere in Kenya," his statement read in part.

Unconfirmed reports indicated that others scheduled to exit the cabinet before expiry of President Uhuru Kenyatta's second term are Interior CS Fred Matiang'i who is said to be going for the Kisii county governor's seat.

Labour CS Simon Chelugui is said to be eyeing the Baringo gubernatorial seat, his Health counterpart Mutahi Kagwe is said to be going for the Nyeri governor's seat while Treasury CS Ukur Yattani and Devolution CS Eugene Wamalwa are rumoured to be going for the Marsabit and Trans Nzoia governor seats respectively.

The other CSs are yet to issue public statements on their positions as far as the media reports are concerned.

Najib Balala's career in politics

Balala has been Tourism CS in President Kenyatta's government since 2015.

During the 2013 election he unsuccessfully vied for the Mombasa Senatorial seat under the Republican Congress Party of Kenya ticket.

Before the senatorial bid, Balala had served as Minister for Tourism between 2008 and March 2012, under the former President Mwai Kibaki's regime.

As a member of the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM), he was successfully elected as Mvita Member of Parliament during the 2002 General Election. He only served one term.

Other ministerial positions he has held include: acting Labour Minister (January 2005 - June 2005), Minister for National Heritage & Culture (2004 - 2005) and Minister for Gender, Sports, Culture & Social Services (2003 -2004).


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke