Siaya County Government Declares There Will be No Repeat President Election

NASA’s stand that there would be no Repeat Presidential election on October 26...

In a statement issued by area Governor Cornel Rasanga Amoth, the Siaya County Governor stated that residents would not in a way participate in the October 26 unless NASA’s “irreducible minimums” were fully met.

“We, the people of Siaya County, will not participate in the scheduled elections on 26 October 2017 unless IEBC addresses itself to the irreducible minimum conditions as outlined by the NASA coalition,” Rasanga stated in a press statement.

The move by the county forms the first real step in stopping the repeat election given that the constitution requires that a presidential election must be held in every constituency, failure to which the process would be null and void.

Article 138 (2) of the Constitution, on the procedure of presidential elections, states, “if two or more candidates are nominated, an election shall be held in each constituency”.

The article has been interpreted to mean that an election shall be considered null and void if a constituency or some constituencies do not participate.

Siaya County has five constituencies including Bondo which is Odinga’s rural home; Gem, Ugenya, Rarieda, and Alego.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: