Joho, Waiguru  & Sonko to be locked out from August Election

This is why these leaders have been blacklisted

Mombasa Governor Hassan Joho, former Devolution and planning Cabinet Secretary Anne Waiguru and Nairobi Senator Mike Sonko are among 20 politicians blacklisted in the August 8 General Election.

The leaders names were fronted by the Kenya Integrity Alliance, who stated that the leaders had integrity flaws.

The civil society noted that the aspirants were not fit to occupy public office as they still had unanswered questions on corruption and unethical conduct.

Governors Alfred Mutua (Machakos), Evans Kidero (Nairobi), Kenneth Lusaka (Bungoma), Okoth Obado (Migori), Mwangi Wa Iria (Murang’a) and Cyprian Awiti (Homa Bay).

The alliance also named Uasin Gishu Jubilee Woman Rep nominee Gladys Boss Shollei, Elizabeth Ongoro, George Ochilo Ayako and Mathew Lempurkel.

Others are Moses Kuria, Oscar Kipchumba Sudi, Samwel Kazungu Kambi and Stephen Murathi Kambi.

Speaking during the announcement one Irungu Houghton from the Society for International Development noted that: "We have handed this list to the vetting agencies for action. It is not our role to register or to clear aspirants".

"We hope they will have the courage of conviction to act consistently with reports that have been generated by statutory bodies," he added.

The list, which was prepared by the Transparency International, Society for International Development, Mzalendo Trust and Inuka Trust, mentioned that the named leaders are accused of vices ranging from abuse of office, audit queries about finances and participation in violence.

The Alliance noted that the list was still being compiled and more leaders will be named.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: