New Council of Governors chair elected

Turkana Governor Josphat Nanok is the immediate former chair

Immediate former CoG chairperson Josphat Nanok (L) with his vice, Anne Waiguru (Twitter)

Governors on Monday elected Kakamega county boss Wycliffe Oparanya as the new chair of the Council of Governors (CoG).

Murang'a Governor Mwangi Wa Iria was elected as the new Vice Chairperson replacing Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru.

The news was conveyed by the official Kakamega County Twitter handle.

Unconfirmed reports had earlier indicated that Oparanya was battling out against Ms Waiguru, Kwale Governor Salim Mvurya, Anyang' Nyong'o of Kisumu and Uasin Gishu's Jackson Mandago.

Salim Mvurya by-passed

In December 2017, the CoG announced that Governor Mvurya would take over leadership within six months as Nanok's term came to an end.

The council explained that an agreement had been reached after intense lobbying in the sidelines of a CoG meeting in Kwale.

Mvurya, who was at the time the Council's vice chairperson, was to remain in office until June 2018 and step down for Governor Waiguru.

While Mvurya stepped down for Waiguru, Nanok remained the chair until Monday's vote.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: