The sports category has moved to a new website.

Why Boinnet has abolished OCPD position

No more OCPDs in Kenya

Interior CS Fred Matiang'i with IG Joseph Boinnet during the Monday launch of digitized HR systems (Twitter)

Inspector General Joseph Boinnet on Tuesday abolished the officer commanding police division (OCPD) designation in the National Police Service.

Announcing the changes, Boinnet explained that the OCPDs will now be replaced with sub-county police commanders (SCPCs).

The move is aimed at streamlining the police force to comply with the geographic and operational boundaries established with the current administrative boundaries.


New SCPCs named, Nairobi has 11

In line with the new changes, Boinnet redeployed some officers who were serving as OCPDs to be the new SCPCs, however, he also slashed the number of SCPCs significantly.

The country will now have 322 SCPCs down from the 527 OCPDs who were there before. Nairobi County will have 11 SCPCs, down from 14 OCPDs.

Central Police Station which was formerly under OCPD Robinson Thuku has now been placed under Starehe sub-county under SCPC Stanley Peter Atavachi.

Kayole police division has now been placed under Njiru sub-county which will be under the command of Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) Wilson Kosgei.


Former Kilimani OCPD Michael Muchiri will now be the SCPC Kibra.

Mombasa county will have only six SCPCs who were named as follows: Mombasa Central (Eliud Arumba) Changamwe (Daudi Loronyokwe), Kisauni (Julius Irungu), Likoni (Benjamin Rotich), Jomvu (James Mutua) and Nyali (Jane Njeri Mukuria).

Nyeri county will have eight SCPCs, Kirinyaga will have five, Kiambu will have 13 while Murang’a and Nyandarua eight and seven respectively.

Police stations that are headed by officers commanding station (OCSs) will now be put under ward commanders in the new changes.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: