New speed limits on highways to take effect if MPs pass new law

Proposed hike to speed limit

Kiambu MP Jude Njomo proposes increase of highway speed limit from 110km/h to 130km/h on major highways and super highways

A new bill tabled in Parliament has proposed a hike in the speed limit on Kenyan highways from 110km/h to 130km/h.

The Traffic (Amendment) Bill 2019 proposes to increase the speed limit as well as classification of Kenyan roads into Category A (trunk roads linking centres of international importance) and Category B roads (trunk roads linking centres of national importance).

The Bill prepared by Kiambu MP Jude Njomo also proposes the increase of the PSV speed limit from 80km/h to 100km/h.

In the new law, vehicles traveling at a speed lower than 70km/h to have a designated lane on the far left of the roads.

Current limits include a 50km/h restriction within Nairobi CBD, near schools and colleges and for vehicles carrying pupils.

Active and Inactive MPs in 12th Parliament

The Kiambu legislator has been actively sponsoring bills in parliament being the brains behind the interest capping bill which was suspended by the High Court for one year.

A recent study by Mzalendo Trust has listed MPs according to their performance in the House.

The top performing MPs were listed as Kimani Ichung’wa (Kikuyu), Joseph Limo (Kipkelion East), Robert Pukose (Endebess), David Gikaria (Nakuru Town East), Chrisantus Wamalwa (Kiminini), James Nyikal (Seme) and TJ Kajwang' of Ruaraka.

The worst performing MPs, who have never spoken in parliament were Justus Kizito (ODM, Shinyalu), Oscar Sudi (Jubilee, Kapsaret) James Wamacukuru (Jubilee, Kabete), Alfred Sambu (ANC, Webuye East), Joshua Adama (ODM, Nyakach), Samuel Arama (Jubilee, Nakuru West), Alex Kosgey (Jubilee, Emgwen) and Charles Kamuren (Jubilee, Baringo South).


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: