Nasa leader elected Council of Governors chairman

He becomes the third Council of Governors Chairman after Munya and Bomet Governor Isaac Ruto

Josphat Nanok was on Monday elected the Council of Governors (CoG) Chairman.

All the governors from across the country's 47 counties gathered in Nairobi's Hilton Hotel to elect Josphat Nanok

Nanok now takes over from Meru Governor Peter Munya who has completed his full two-year term in office at the helm of the county bosses.

Nanok becomes the third CoG after Munya and Bomet Governor Isaac Ruto since the full enactment of the constitution after the 2013 elections.

In his acceptance speech, Nanok said he honoured to be the third Chairman of the Council.

"My predecessors have worked had to give the Council of Governors the reputation and respect it deserves. We must achieve new goals and face the new emerging challenges," Nanok said.

The new chairman will only serve for two months unless he is re-elected as Governor in the August Elections after which he will continue serving his tenure.

Nanok was born in 1950 in Turkana.

He is affiliated to ODM, and a member party of the National Super Alliance (NASA).

Nanok will be facing John Munyes who has the Jubilee ticket in August polls.

At the same time embattled governors John Mruttu (Taita Taveta) and William Kabogo (Kiambu) were elected Vice Chairman and Chief whip respectively.

Nanok has had a frosty relationship with the Jubilee Government.

In March, the tense relationship played out during President Uhuru Kenyatta's tour of the arid county.

The governor sparked an angry reaction from the President after he criticised Government plans to amend the Petroleum Exploration and Production Bill to deny local communities 10 per cent oil share benefit as earlier proposed. The oil share benefit has been reduced to five per cent.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: