The sports category has moved to a new website.

IG Mutyambai makes new announcement on these 4 CSs

The CSs hold crucial dockets in the government

Inspector General of Police Hilary Mutyambai (Twitter)

The National Police Service on Thursday morning issued a public notice on the categories of VIPs who are entitled to road clearance.

The list includes only four Cabinet Secretaries along with some Principal Secretaries in their ministries.

Inspector General Hilary Mutyambai explained that the announcement came after public outcry on government officers who have abused the privilege.

IG Mutyambai further cautioned that the driver of any government vehicle found violating the directive will be arrested.


List of vehicles and VIPs allowed Road Clearance in Kenya

The announcement went on to outline the vehicles and VIPs who are allowed road clearance as the fire brigade, ambulances and a selected number of VIPs.

Those allowed clearance are the President, Retired Presidents, the Retired Prime Minister, the Deputy President, the First lady, Chief Justice, the Attorney General, Speakers and Majority Leaders of both the National Assembly and the Senate.

The only CSs allowed to disrupt traffic are those holding the Defence, Interior, Finance and Foreign Affairs dockets along with the PS in the named ministries.


The IG, his deputies in the Administration Police and Kenya Police Service as well as the Chief of Defence and all Service Commanders of the Defence Forces.

"All other vehicles including Government registered vehicles (GK) are expected to follow the normal traffic flow.

"Any Government vehicle found violating traffic regulations especially those overlapping, the driver shall be arrested and charged in accordance to the law," the statement concluded.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: