The sports category has moved to a new website.

Nyeri County

It borders Laikipia County to the north, Kirinyaga County to the east, Murang‘a County to the south, Nyandarua County to the west and Meru County to the Northeast.

It lies 150Km North of Nairobi, straddling two mountain massifs -the western slopes of Mount Kenya and the eastern base of the Aberdare (Nyandarua) Range which forms part of the Eastern end of the Great Rift Valley.


Its capital is Nyeri, a colonial town which was the centre of the Happy Valley settlers, a group of British aristocrats and adventurers who became famous for their infamous decadent lifestyles and exploits in the first half of the 20th century.



It covers an area of 3,337.1Km2 according to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, Nyeri County had a population of 693,558 with 208 people per Km2 and an annual growth rate of 0.8%. The age distribution is 0-14 years 33.8%, 15-64 years 59.7% and 65+ years 6.5%.



The County experiences equatorial rainfall due to its location within the highland equatorial zone of Kenya. It receives rainfall amounts of between 550mm and 1,500mm per annum with the long rains occur from March to May while the short rains occur between October and December. Temperatures range from a mean annual minimum of 12°C to a mean maximum of 27°C.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: