Final numbers in Babu Owino's vote recount case released

The final tally comes after weeks of tension as Embakasi East constituents waited on the official results of the vote recount.

The recount found that the area MP Babu Owino won the Embakasi East parliamentary race.

The tally show that Owino garnered 46,817 votes against 42,501 votes garnered by his main rival, Jubilee's  Francis Mureithi.

The final vote recount tally was signed by High Court Deputy Registrars Esther Mburu and Mbayaki Wafula.


There was confusion last week as both Owino and his rival Mureithi declared themselves victors in the Vote recount.

On January 12 2017, the High Court ordered recount and scrutiny of all votes cast in the parliamentary race during the August 8 election in Embakasi East.

Election petition

Mr Mureithi argued that the intimidations that Owino adduced to his supporters violated their absolute rights to vote.

The vote recount revealed slightly higher figures than those used to determine the parliamentary race during the August 8 elections.

During last year's election, Owino was declared the winner with 46,587 votes against Mureithi's 42,253.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: