8 MPs appointed to plan Ken Okoth's and Laboso's funerals

The MPs will work together with the families of the deceased leaders

Speaker Justin Muturi appoints 8 MPs to help in planning Ken Okoth and Dr Joyce Laboso funerals

The 12th Parliament on Tuesday appointed eight members of parliament to be part of a special committee that will assist in planning the funerals for Kibra MP Ken Okoth and Bomet Governor Joyce Laboso.

The committee was mandated to work together with the families of the deceased leaders to ensure decent send-offs for both who leaders who died of cancer, two days apart.

National Assembly Minority Leader John Mbadi was appointed to chair the special committee.

Others MPs appointed to the committee are James Nyikal (Seme), T.J. Kajwang (Ruaraka), Yusuf Hassan (Kamukunji), Tim Wanyonyi (Westlands), Simba Arati (Dagoretti North), Esther Passaris (Nairobi) and Nixon Korir (Lang'ata).

Speaker Muturi also wrote to Senate Speaker Ken Lusaka asking him to appoint two Senators to the committee.

Burial plans for Ken Okoth and Joyce Laboso so far

By Tuesday evening, the family of Dr Loboso had announced that her funeral is set for August 3, 2019 at her matrimonial home in Fort Ternan in Koru, Muhoroni Constituency, Kisumu County.

A memorial service will be held at the All Saints Cathedral in Nairobi on August 1 after which her body will be flown to Bomet for a night vigil ahead of a service to be held in the county on August 2.

Her body will then be flown to Kisumu for her final journey.

Ken Okoth's family is yet to make public the arrangements ahead of his send-off.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke