Finally! New Whatsapp feature will allow users to delete messages before they’re read
You don’t have to worry about those embarrassing messages being read anymore
Whatsapp has introduced a ‘delete for everyone’ feature that allows users to recall messages before they are read.
The new feature will allow users to delete messages in group chats if the receiver has the latest Whatsapp version installed.
"Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.”
The receiver will still get a notification that the message has been deleted though.
"Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with 'This message was deleted' in your recipients' chats. Similarly, if you see 'this message was deleted' in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.”
"You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone."
How to delete the message
If you want to delete a sent message, all you will have to do is tap and hold the message, tap on delete and then select the ‘delete for everyone’ option.
There is a twist though. The sender will not be notified if the deletion is unsuccessful which means that the recipient may or may not see your message.
The new feature works for text messages, images and videos.
Source: The Sun
JOIN OUR PULSE COMMUNITY!
Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: