Location of the new matatu stages after Nairobi CBD Ban

New stages explained.

Passengers walking to the new stages

The new stages were explained in the notice published by acting County Secretary Pauline Kahiga Waititu.

The following are the new stages for the PSV vehicles:

Muthurwa Stage

The terminus will be used by all matatu and buses that ply the Jogoo Road and Lusaka Road route.

Ngara Stage

This stage will be used by vehicles that use the Juja Road route together with Ring Road and Park road.

Desai Service Road Stage

The Desai stage will be used by vehicles that go past Ruiru or branch off before or at Kenol.

Fig tree Terminus B

Public commuter vehicles that use the Thika Road route which include the Ruiru and Kiambu Road route will drop and pick passengers at this stage.

Fig tree Terminus A (Murang’a Road)

The terminus will be used by matatus that access the CBD using the Waiyaki Way/ Uhuru Highway, Kipande Road and Limuru Road.

Park Road Stage

Passengers heading towards past Kenol along the Meru/Nyeri-Nairobi highway will use this stage which also will be used by all upcountry vehicles coming into the city through Waiyaki Way.

Hakati Stage

Vehicles that use the Mombasa and Langata Road routes will drop and pick passengers at this stage.

Railways Stage

The stage will be used by all vehicles that use the Ngong Road route.

Move by the Government

The government stated that the move was aimed at reducing the traffic congestion witnessed in the city during peak hours.

Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko noted that all previous gazettements had been cancelled, something that was not accepted well by the matatu workers.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke