Division in NASA after Today’s Decision

New decision causes tension in NASA

Coast MPs affiliated to the Alliance cited discrimination stating that they will not accept the list as currently constituted.

The Opposition named Suba South John Mbadi (ODM) as the Minority Leader while Suna East MP Junet Mohammed (ODM) was proposed as the Minority Whip.

The legislators from the coastal region noted that NASA had only picked leaders from one region and demanded the list be withdrawn.

According to the list, Mr Mohamed will be deputised by Kiminini MP Chris Wamalwa of Ford Kenya while Mbadi will be deputised by Kathiani MP Robert Mbui of Wiper.

At the same time, in the Senate, NASA has listed Bungoma Senator Moses Wetang'ula (Ford Kenya) as Minority Leader and will be deputised by his Siaya counterpart James Orengo (ODM) with Makueni Senator Mutula Kilonzo Junior (WIper) named as Minority Whip.

Kilonzo will be deputised by Petronila Were of the Amani National Congress.

This new decision comes at a time when NASA leaders in both Houses vowed to boycott Session in the August House.

Mr Mbadi reiterated that NASA leaders will be part of Committee on Appointment or vetting of Cabinet Secretaries.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: news@pulselive.co.ke